Visit our Clinical Hub ยป

Care of the Older Person Course Modules

Course Content

Find module content, dates and individual module application information below.

Module 1 Ageing in Ireland

Topics to include the following: 

  • Demographics
  • Tilda
  • Frailty
  • ICPOP Integrated Care and the MDT
  • Model of Care 

Module dates

  • Module Opens: Wednesday, 13 September 2023
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 27 September at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Tuesday, 12 September 2023 at 5pm

Module 2 Multi-Morbidity and Frailty

Topics to include the following:

  • Multi-morbidity and prevention
  • Mobility
  • Osteoarthritis and pain management
  • Reablement and age-related neuro disorders (stroke, Parkinson's)
  • Living well at home - aids, appliances and adaptions

Module dates

  • Module Opens: Friday, 06 October 2023
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 25 October at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Thursday, 05 October 2023 at 5pm

Module 3 Nutrition, Bone Health and Falls Prevention

Topics to include the following:

  • Malnutrition and prescribing ONS
  • Skin integrity
  • 24 hour posture management
  • Vitamin D folate
  • Swallow impairment and IDDSI guidelines
  • Syncope and falls
  • Sarcopenia
  • Osteoporosis management

Module dates

  • Module Opens: Wednesday, 01 November 2023
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 15 November at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Tuesday, 02 November 2023 at 5pm

Module 4 Mental Health and the Older Person

Topics to include the following: 

  • Positive ageing
  • Quality of life
  • Cognitive decline and dementia
  • Engagement and activities
  • Capacity assessment
  • BPSD, PRNs, 
  • Restraints enablers

Module dates

  • Module Opens: Wednesday, 29 November 2023
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 13 December at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Tuesday, 28 November 2023 at 5pm

Module 5 Residential Care Medicine and Medication Management

Topics to include the following:

  • Fair Deal
  • CSAR InterRai (remember other scales)
  • GP role
  • Communication and family meetings
  • HIQA standards and regulatory compliance / governance
  • The care plan – person-centred care
  • The medication review
  • Deprescribing

Module dates

  • Module Opens: Wednesday, 10 January 2024
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 24 January at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Tuesday, 11 January 2024 at 5pm

Module 6 Continence, Infection and Safeguarding

Topics to include the following: 

  • Continence in frailty and catheter care
  • Infection and the older person UTI Mx HCAI, aspiration pneumonia
  • Acute confusion and delirium
  • IPC, COVID, HSPC, 
  • FREDA principles and advocacy
  • Safeguarding 

Module dates:

  • Module Opens: Wednesday, 07 February 2024
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 21 February at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Tuesday, 08 February 2024 at 5pm

Module 7 Advance Directives & End of Life Care

Topics to include the following: 

  • ADMCA and advance directives
  • Ceilings of care and ethical considerations 
  • End-of-life care and interventions
  • CEOL programme in nursing homes 
  • Death certification 

Module dates:

  • Module Opens: Wednesday, 06 March 2024
  • Live Zoom Session: Wednesday, 20 March at 8pm
  • Registration for this module closes on Tuesday, 07 March 2024 at 5pm