Visit our Clinical Hub ยป
12 April 2018
print version

Q. Who makes up the Mental Health Tribunal and how does it operate?

A. The Mental Health Commission appoints three members to sit on a Mental Health Tribunal. The members will consist of a practising barrister or solicitor, who has been in practice for not less than seven years immediately prior to appointment, who will act as Chairperson, a consultant psychiatrist (retired consultant psychiatrists are eligible for appointment within seven years of their retirement), and a person other than a barrister, solicitor, consultant psychiatrist, registered medical practitioner or registered nurse. Each member of the tribunal has a vote and decisions are determined by a majority of votes. This means that the decision of the tribunal operates on a majority basis rather than one person having a decisive vote.

The information above was provided by the Mental Health Commission.