2011 Award

Aviva Quality in Practice Awards

Each year the Quality in Practice Committee of the ICGP awards a prize at the AGM for the best practice innovation that leads to an improvement in patient care. The award has been sponsored for the past seven years by Aviva.

  • The winner for 2011 was Dr Laura Noonan for her project on the use of patient information leaflet during consultations for uncomplicated upper respiratory tract infections aimed at reducing antibiotic prescribing.
  • Second prize went to Dr Anne Marie Cox for her project on levels of adherence to the European Society Guidelines in relation to the prescribing of statins to low risk patients.
  • Dr Clare Leonard took third prize for her audit on influenza vaccine uptake and measures taken to increase uptake in line with expanded eligibility criteria for the 2010/2011 influenza season.

Articles on each of the winning entries may be viewed below.


 Dr Clare Leonard: Audit on Influenza Vaccine Uptake (Clare_Leonard_Forum_article__V_1.0.pdf | 119 KB)