About the Scheme

The ICGP operates a professional competence scheme (PCS) for GPs under arrangement with the Irish Medical Council (IMC).

As of May 2011, all doctors on the Medical Council register are legally obliged to maintain their professional competence by enrolling on a professional competence scheme and following the requirements set by the Medical Council.

Each professional competence year runs from 1 May – 30 April.

Professional Competence Scheme Framework

The framework for professional competence is as follows:

  • 50 CPD credits per annum (which must include the minimums listed in the categories below)
  • 1 clinical audit (a minimum of 12 hours per annum)

The following represents a breakdown of the various categories:

1. CPD Activities

2. Clinical Audit