For COVID-19 information, updates & support, visit our Clinical Hub »

Quality and Safety in Practice Award

Medisec Quality and Safety in Practice Awards 2020 - postponed

Medisec Quality and Safety in Practice Awards 2020 will be postponed until November 2020, applications will now be accepted until Tuesday September 1st.

Medisec is sponsoring the 16th annual ICGP Quality and Safety Awards. 

The 2019 winner of the award, Dr Richard Murray of Kings island Medical Centre, in Limerick and medical student, William Murray presented their quality improvement initiative: 'Chronic Kidney Disease: an opportunity to improve how your practice cares for this vulnerable group of patients' at last year's annual conference. Previous winning projects originated from practice audits, GP training projects, or as novel 'ideas' from practice teams.

The awards recognise improvements or innovations by doctors working in Irish General Practice. Clinical or practice management quality improvement initiatives, which can demonstrate an improvement in the quality and safety of healthcare in practice are invited to submit. The award provides a unique platform to share the quality of care delivered by Irish general practice.

Key elements sought in each submission include:

  • Originality
  • Simplicity of design
  • Ease of implementation and ongoing use
  • Ease of application to other general practices within Ireland
  • Provides a solution to a common problem in general practice
  • Evidence of benefits derived from the improvement or innovation
  • Evidence that the improvement or innovation makes an impact on practice, particularly patient safety and wellbeing

Awards will be presented to the highest scoring three entries at the ICGP Annual Conference on Saturday 9th May 2020 at the National Convention Centre in Dublin. Each shortlisted entry will be invited, and required, to present at the ICGP Annual Conference. Entrants meeting a required standard will be invited to present a poster at the conference.
The deadline for receipt of entries is 5pm on Monday 16 of March 2020.

Entries will only be accepted by email to

  • Click here for the submission entry form
  • Click here for the terms and conditions

All ICGP members are eligible to apply.

Click here to view the previous winning entries.

Learn More To give you the best possible experience, our sites use cookies. Continuing with cookies enabled means you're OK with this. Click Learn More for more information about our cookies, and how to disable them. ×