## Circular 10/93: Adaptation of EC regulations by the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Title: Adaptation of EC regulations by the European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Countries.

Date: 20 December 1993

**Document Type: Circular 10/93** 

From: Department of Health, Ireland

To: Chief Executive Officer of each Health Board/ Chief Executive Officer or Secretary-

Manager of each Voluntary or Joint Board Hospital

## Re: ADAPTATION OF EC REGULATIONS BY THE EUROPEAN FREE TRADE ASSOCIATION (EFTA) COUNTRIES

I am directed by the Minister for Health to inform you that with effect from 1 January 1994, Austria, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden will join with EC Member States to form the European Economic Area (EEA).

The agreement does not confer membership of the EC on the EFTA countries concerned but it does mean that they will adopt and operate EC Regulations 1408/71 and 574/72 on Social Security.

The effect of this is that, from 1 January, 1994, visitors from any of the above countries to Ireland will be eligible to receive emergency treatment on the same basis as EC Nationals. An E111 form will be required as proof of entitlement. The letters identifying the countries concerned which will appear on the E111 form will be A (Austria), FIN (Finland), (IS) Iceland, N (Norway), and S (Sweden).

Irish visitors to any one of the countries listed above are entitled to obtain emergency health services on the same basis as Nationals of that country. To obtain this entitlement visitors should bring the E111 form covering the period they are in the other country.

The arrangements whereby students, posted workers, pensioners etc retain entitlements to health services if they move from one EC country to another will also cover nationals of these countries taking up residence in Ireland and vice versa.

Tom O'Mahony

Principal Officer

Planning Unit