Visit our Clinical Hub »
You are here: Home > About Us > College Structure > Board

ICGP Board 2023 - 2024

The Board is the primary decision making body in the ICGP. It is responsible and accountable for decision making and the delivery of the ICGP's strategic objectives.

The key purpose of the Board is to ensure the organisation's prosperity by collectively directing the organisation's affairs while meeting the appropriate interests of its members and other relevant stakeholders, and complying with all necessary legislation and regulation.

Members of the Board include the ICGP president, chair, and committee chairs.

Dr Deirdre Collins, Chair

Image for article titled 'Dr Deirdre Collins, Chair' Dr Deirdre Collins practices in her hometown of Kilcullen, Co. Kildare, in a multi doctor practice. A TCD graduate Deirdre completed GP training with the Dublin Regional Vocational Training Scheme and obtained the MICGP in 1994 » read more

Dr Eamonn Shanahan, President

Image for article titled 'Dr Eamonn Shanahan, President' Dr Eamonn Shanahan is the senior partner in a four doctor teaching practice in Farranfore, Co Kerry. He passed his Membership of the Royal College of GPs in July 1986 and became a Foundation Member of the Irish College shortly after. » read more

Dr Pat Durcan, Vice President

Image for article titled 'Dr Pat Durcan, Vice President' Dr Pat Durcan, GP in Ballina, Co Mayo is the representative of the Mayo Faculty since 2016. Graduating from UCD Medical School in 1978 he trained with the Eastern Scheme. » read more

Dr Paul Armstrong, Immediate Past President

Image for article titled 'Dr Paul Armstrong, Immediate Past President' Dr Paul Armstrong, GP in Lifford, Co. Donegal. Dr Armstrong has been in practice for over 32 years and has actively contributed to the College during this time. » read more

Dr Gráinne Ní Ghairbhí, College Secretary

Image for article titled 'Dr Gráinne Ní Ghairbhí, College Secretary' Dr Gráinne Ní Ghairbhí, College Secretary, graduated from the Trinity College Dublin in 1999 with her MICGP. » read more

Dr Liam Twomey, College Treasurer

Image for article titled 'Dr Liam Twomey, College Treasurer' Dr Liam Twomey is a graduate of TCD and obtained the MICGP in 1997. Liam has been in practice in a two-partner practice in Rosslare Co. Wexford since 1999. He completed GP Training in the Cork Vocational Training Scheme. » read more

Dr Lucia Gannon, Chair of the Membership Services and Communication Committee

Image for article titled 'Dr Lucia Gannon, Chair of the Membership Services and Communication Committee' Dr Lucia Gannon is a principal in a two GP practice in Killenaule, Co. Tipperary and a member of the South Tipperary Faculty. » read more

Professor Liam Glynn, Chair of Research

Image for article titled 'Professor Liam Glynn, Chair of Research' Prof Liam Glynn is the Professor of General Practice at the School of Medicine and a member of the Health Research Institute at the University of Limerick. » read more

Ms Anna Broderick, External Board Member

Image for article titled 'Ms Anna Broderick, External Board Member' Ms Anna Broderick is a graduate of UCD and holds a European BCL degree in law and a Masters in Commercial Law. She was previously a partner with Eversheds Sutherland, a commercial law firm in Dublin. » read more

Dr Cristina Warren

Image for article titled 'Dr Cristina Warren' Dr Cristina Warren is a GP working in Dublin's north inner city in the Grangegorman Primary Care Centre. » read more

Ms Siobhan O’Leary

Image for article titled 'Ms Siobhan O’Leary' Ms Siobhan O'Leary is the new Non-Executive Member of the Board. She is a business transformation specialist with a background in finance and HR. » read more